One-Liner Wednesday — Retirement

IMG_2513

David Letterman, former host of The Late Show on CBS, retired in 2015. He recently announced that he would be returning to TV in a deal with Netflix for six episodes of an hourlong series that will combine long-form interviews with reports from the field. His show is expected to debut next year.

When asked why he decided to come out of retirement to go back to TV, Letterman said:

“If you retire to spend more time with your family, check with your family first.”

I retired at the end of last year and was looking forward to spending more quality time with my wife. She told me she was, too.

Recently, though, she’s been asking me why I am “always underfoot” and what my plans for the day are.

And last week she asked me if I had given any thought to getting a part time job to, you know, “give me something to do.”

Perhaps I should have considered Letterman’s quote and checked with my wife before I decided to retire.


Written for this week’s One-Liner Wednesday prompt from Linda G. Hill.

17 thoughts on “One-Liner Wednesday — Retirement

  1. Kijo August 16, 2017 / 4:45 am

    “always underfoot”

    Ha ha ha ha! She’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marilyn Armstrong August 16, 2017 / 7:25 am

    Garry posted the same post from Letterman, but I think it’s more that he things maybe he should be doing more …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 16, 2017 / 7:33 am

      I am kind of enjoying doing less. So far, anyway.

      Like

    • Fandango August 16, 2017 / 9:31 am

      It’s always nice to give someone something to smile about. Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. JoAnna August 16, 2017 / 11:29 am

    Since I quit my JOB, it seems I’m just as busy because there are so many things I want to do, but surely I’m not as stressed. I just need to remember that doing “nothing” is okay, too. And my husband has not retired yet, so no one is underfoot except the dogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 16, 2017 / 11:37 am

      Now it’s the dog, the cat, and me who are all underfoot, it seems.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. John Holton August 16, 2017 / 1:42 pm

    That was like Mary and I moving to Atlanta so I woulden’t have to travel and thus could spend more time with her. After a couple of years, she’d look at me on Sunday afternoon and ask “Don’t you have somewhere to go?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 16, 2017 / 5:06 pm

      Yep, I’ve heard that line before, as well.

      Like

Leave a comment