WordPress Weirdness

I published a post earlier today in response to today’s WordPress one-word prompt, “educate.” Everything seemed to work fine and my link back to the WordPress daily prompt page was successful.

A few hours later, I published another post and that post, too, seemed to publish successfully.

But a few minutes ago I checked my blog and the earlier post was no longer there. Poof! It was gone! Disappeared! Vanished! Even the link on the WordPress Daily prompt didn’t work anymore. Anyone who clicked on it got this message:

Can't be found.jpg

My second post of the day was still there. But not the first one. I checked my published posts, my draft posts, my scheduled posts, and even my trashed posts. Nada. Nothing.

What the hell happened to that first post?

I primarily use my iPhone to publish my posts and, between the time I published that first post and the second one, my iPhone automatically downloaded an update to the WordPress app.

So the only explanation I can come up with is that the update to the app somehow misplaced my first post of the day. Well, I guess the good news is that it didn’t disappear all of my posts.

Fortunately, I had a backup of that missing post and restored it to its rightful place on my blog. Unfortunately, it was a real pain in the butt to have to do so.

Ah technology!

 

21 thoughts on “WordPress Weirdness

  1. rvramosptukie September 4, 2017 / 12:08 pm

    The same thing happened to me two days ago!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marilyn Armstrong September 4, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    Yes. That stuff has been happening a LOT to many people. I lost more than 3000 followers for a couple of months and i’m pretty sure they aren’t all back. My comments were showing up. A lot of people never saw any of my posts. They keep messing with the software. They are doing it again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango September 4, 2017 / 12:18 pm

      I guess they’re not familiar with the phrase, “leave well enough alone.”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Suze September 4, 2017 / 12:18 pm

    welcome to the wonderful weirdness that is WP! This wonderful land is a land of disappearing posts, comments, followers and comments (yes, I had to write it twice just in case it disappeared!)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Fandango September 4, 2017 / 12:22 pm

      Since most of my WordPressing (writing, posting, reading) is done on the iPhone, I wonder if those who use laptops or desktops are experiencing similar weirdnesses.

      Like

      • cagedunn September 4, 2017 / 3:18 pm

        yes – a desktop user I is, and I’s takes seriously the things I’s does, so’s I copies every-ting, every-bloody-ting, to a folder on me pc’s. Every-bloody-times. And den, I’s finds a ways to backs up me’s folders’s every-bloody-days – cos, guess what’s – I’s got Windows!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fandango September 4, 2017 / 3:51 pm

          Yup, between Windows and WordPress, you’s smart to back every-ting up every-bloody-times.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Ruth September 4, 2017 / 12:51 pm

    I saw a link to your original post on my reader on my laptop earlier, but when I clicked on it I just got the ‘Oops’ message 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. newepicauthor September 4, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    I have two basic WordPress problems that still remain unresolved. One of them is related to people that I follow and this has to do with me never getting updates on their new posts. I circumvent this by keeping my Reader on all the time and their posts usually show up there, however this does not work all the time. My other problem is that I never get any notices when people make comments on comments that I have made on their posts. The only way I get any clue is if they hit the LIKE button on one of my comments and then later I can go back and see if they replied to my comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango September 4, 2017 / 2:10 pm

      I liked this comment so that you can see that I responded.

      Liked by 1 person

      • newepicauthor September 4, 2017 / 2:14 pm

        You are such a nice guy for keeping me out of the dark world that WordPress has forced me to live in.

        Liked by 1 person

    • cagedunn September 4, 2017 / 3:20 pm

      I think that’s why it’s a courtesy to ‘like’ every comment, simply so people who commented can know the recipient actually read it … it should be easier to trace your own comments …

      Liked by 2 people

    • Fandango September 4, 2017 / 10:23 pm

      How does something like that happen? Where did these posts go? Is there a black hole somewhere in the WordPress app that randomly swallows published posts? Sheesh!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

