Speak American

IMG_2591

I love this photo on so many levels.

First, being the grammar and language pedant that I am, there’s the misuse of the word “your.” I don’t need to tell you that it should read “You’re in America.”

And, of course, there should be some punctuation between the first line and the second. A period, a colon, a semicolon. At the very least, a comma.

But it’s the irony of the message that is priceless. Telling someone to speak English because he or she happens to be in America and, while doing so, displaying a complete lack of mastery of the English language. How exquisite is that?

Gee, I wonder if whoever put that decal on the car window is able to speak the native tongue of any non-English speaking country he may visit.

“You’re in Mexico, gringo. Speak Mexican!”

“You’re in Canada, sir. Please speak Canadian, eh?”

Nah. That Yankees fan probably has never even been outside of the five boroughs of New York City. Well, maybe he’s been to New Jersey.


Written for today’s one-word prompt, “priceless.”

6 thoughts on “Speak American

  1. Marilyn Armstrong September 3, 2017 / 9:32 am

    Every time I see these things, the grammar makes me wince. Now, I understand typos. But on a tee-shirt or decal? Don’t you get someone to read it before you print it?

    Do they speak English in New York?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. newepicauthor September 3, 2017 / 11:37 am

    I remember going into a shop in Brazil where their official language is Portuguese and I asked the owner of the store if he had this certain item (I actually forgot what it was that I was looking for) and he said, “I love your English, you speak it so well.” I told him that is because I am from New Jersey and he said that since he does not get the opportunity to hear English like mine very often, the he would close down his store and walk me to another store where he felt that I could purchase this item. That was unbelievable to me as I know in America how people that do not speak English are always disrespected.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango September 3, 2017 / 11:49 am

      Sadly, something like that would be unlikely in the this country.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

