Moderation In All Things

IMG_2491

People who know me describe me as a mild mannered man. I don’t know about my manners, but when it comes to food, mild is the operative word for me.

It’s not that I don’t add spices to my food. I do. I’ll and seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, and a pinch of ground pepper. Just enough to add some flavor to what I ingest.

I enjoy eating, and I like my food to be flavorful. But I don’t enjoy eating food that burns going in and burns coming out. I don’t like eating food that makes me sweat. I don’t like eating food that causes me to hop up, jump around, fan my mouth, mop my brow, and gulp down large quantities of cooling liquids.

In other words, I don’t like spicy food.

And that’s a problem in my family, where everyone else likes their food extra spicy. Cayenne pepper spicy. Jalapeño peppers spicy. Sriracha sauce spicy. So when it comes to meal preparation, my wife prepares our meals in two ways. One for me, which is relatively mild, and the other for her and our kids, with all of the really spicy stuff.

I think that just proves that even a mild mannered man can be loved.


Written for today’s one-word prompt, “spicy.”

6 thoughts on “Moderation In All Things”

Leave a Reply

