Memory Lane

IMG_2485

I was struggling when I first read Sandi’s Manic Monday challenge this week, which is to write a post using a song title, “Sentimental Journey.” I knew this would be a difficult prompt for me because I’m really not the sentimental type.

But then I read a post last night by Jerry Brotherton, aka, the Backyard Poet, and the synapses in my brain started firing. Jerry wrote about the past, saying that if he remembers it correctly, he wasn’t that fond of it at the time.

I commented on his post that when I think about the past, I tend to embellish the good memories and to diminish the not so good ones. It’s a mechanism that gives us a sense of nostalgia, a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life.

I think it’s common, when people think about the past, for it to become a sentimental journey of sorts. Well, it does for me, anyway.

When I think about my youth, recall my college days, remember how I first met the woman who eventually became my wife, or when my children were born, I feel all warm and fuzzy inside. They’re fond memories.

I remember how great I felt when I got accepted to college and how elated I was when I was offered my first job after I graduated.

Of course there are also bad memories, like when my first dog died or when my mother and father passed away. Or that time when I got nabbed for shoplifting, when I got cut from the high school varsity football team, or when I was fired from my second job.

Yet the stronger, more vivid memories are the good ones. It’s those that are evoked when I hear certain songs or smell certain aromas. The not so great memories have faded over the decades to the extent that they’re getting very difficult to recall.

So for me, as I amble down memory lane, my trips are, for the most part, sentimental journeys.

(Notice that at the last possible minute, I snuck in today’s one-word prompt, “amble.” Pretty slick, huh?)

9 thoughts on “Memory Lane

  1. Sight11 August 7, 2017 / 7:40 am

    I did the same thing. Did two prompts challenges.. Yeah, Sensei.. For some it is the good, for others it is the bad…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 7, 2017 / 7:42 am

      Focus on the good. There’s nothing that can be done to change the past. What’s done is done.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thebackyardpoet August 7, 2017 / 8:11 am

    I think, the closer we get to the end of our journey, we don’t want contemplate the future because it reminds us of the shortness of life. Reflecting into the past, is a way to extend us. If that makes sense. Of course, I am old and tend to ramble. Thanks for the post, really puts things into perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 7, 2017 / 9:32 am

      I’ve had to deal with a number of dog passings. It’s devastating. It’s the loss of a beloved member of the family.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandi August 7, 2017 / 9:34 am

    Isn’t it true how we embellish some memories? And others I try to forget. I enjoyed reading your thoughts and you did well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Holton August 8, 2017 / 11:58 am

    I know what you mean. I’m kind of the same way: making the memories better, mostly by forgetting some critical details. It’s your story, you do with it what you want.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

