Destination Unknown

IMG_2482

Carl Sagan once said, “I don’t know where I am going, but I’m on my way.”

When I first read that, it struck a familiar chord. In fact, it may very well have been the story of my life. I’ve never really had a crystal clear destination in mind, but that hasn’t stopped me from embarking upon my life’s journey.

Sometimes I find myself at a wonderful place surrounded by great friends and family and I believe that I may have finally arrived. But then something happens and I feel, for their own good, that I must leave for parts unknown.

And sometimes the place at which I find myself is not so wonderful and I feel, for my own good, that I must leave, once again, for parts unknown.

Where is it that I am going? Where is it that I am supposed to be? How will I know that I am there?

Wandering and wondering.

Then I recalled that Ralph Waldo Emerson wrote, “Life is a journey, not a destination.”

And I realized that it’s not so much where it is that I’m going as much as what paths I choose to follow to get me there.

7 thoughts on “Destination Unknown”

  1. Even when you know where you’ve been, and you’ve planned where you’re going – the past is not now, and the map is not the journey.
    May the journey never end …
    [because the journey is curiosity, and intrigue, and interest, and caring, and …]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

