Sneakers and Jeans

IMG_2477

Ever since I retired at the end of last year, every day is casual Friday. My typical attire when the weather is warm consists of t-shirts, jeans, and sneakers. In cooler weather, I replace the t-shirts with sweatshirts.

One of my first acts of retirement was to purge my wardrobe of most of my business attire. I did retain one suit, one dress shirt, one tie, and one pair of dress shoes just in case I am invited to a wedding or a funeral.

I also kept a blue blazer sport coat and a pair of khakis for those occasions that call for “dress casual.” Other than those items, though, everything else went to my local Goodwill store.

I truly feel liberated by being able to go casual every day. It’s the best thing about retirement.

Also, not having to get up and go to the office is pretty liberating.


Written for today’s one-word prompt, “casual.”

12 thoughts on “Sneakers and Jeans

  1. Sight11 August 5, 2017 / 9:30 am

    Those Khakis must be expensive.. Sweatshirt are my favourite.. But now I can’t wear them.. Have to settle for Tees..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 5, 2017 / 9:40 am

      The khakis are Dockers, so not that expensive. Why no sweatshirts? Because it’s summer?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sight11 August 5, 2017 / 9:44 am

        I am underweight now because of my earlier health problems.. My shorts don’t fit me any more.. So Sweatshirt looks like a curtain.. I am thinking of buying the cuffed ones.. But only when the temperature is right..

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fandango August 5, 2017 / 9:51 am

          I hope your health problems are behind you. May I recommend lots of ice cream to help you get your weight back up?Maybe some sort of vegan ice cream, of course — if such a thing exists.

          Liked by 3 people

          • Sight11 August 5, 2017 / 9:56 am

            Haha, basically I can’t rush to gain my weight. Chances are that it will do more damage (not that my hunger has return).. But all in good time.. Vegan ice cream.. Haha..

            Liked by 2 people

  2. newepicauthor August 5, 2017 / 10:20 am

    Comfort rules my wardrobe and although I may not always be the best dressed person in a room, being at ease is important to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 5, 2017 / 11:14 am

      Even when attired in my best suit, no one would have considered me to be the “best dressed” person in the room. I agree that comfort trumps style every time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Renard Moreau August 5, 2017 / 10:44 am

    [ Smiles ] The only way I am going to discard my suits is if the particular style becomes outdated or they can no longer fit.

    But, everyone is entitled to do what pleases them; even if it means getting rid of 99% of their suits when they retire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango August 5, 2017 / 11:12 am

      I was never a fan of suits, and I consider ties to be medieval torture devices.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Fandango August 7, 2017 / 7:36 am

      Definitely relatable. So we’re you able to “dress nicer” after writing this post, or did you stick with your Jammies-like attire?

      Like

      • Janesjournals.com August 7, 2017 / 7:44 am

        While taking care of my folks this summer I have had time to sew. In between sewing baby things, I made some nicer clothes for me, including a few casual dresses.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

