They Love Me in India

Image result for India flag

Just for grins and giggles, I looked over my blog’s stats for July. As expected, most of my views, fully half, came from the United States, my country, ’tis of thee. However, the country where another 28% of my blog’s views last month originated was India. INDIA!

Huh? I did not expect that.

I wanted to see if this was an anomaly, so I checked my stats for August, which, admittedly, is only four days old. What I found was that, so far, 53% of my views came from my home country, but 26% were, again, from India.

Seriously?

I figured that, outside of the US, most of my views would be from other English speaking countries like the UK, Australia, or Canada. But no. In July, only 7.6% were from the UK, 4.4% from Australia, and less than 1% from Canada.

What the hell, Canada? I have more views from Russia than from Canada. (Shh. Don’t tell Special Counsel Robert Mueller.)

It’s pretty much the same so far in August, with 10.9% from the UK, 4.2% from Australia and, again, less than 1% from Canada. Seriously Canada?

If someone from India is reading this post, please help me understand why I have so many readers from India. I’ve never ever been to India and going there is not high on my personal bucket list. So why?

What about all of you? From which countries are you posts getting the most views? Take a look at your WordPress stats. You might be surprised.

 

18 thoughts on “They Love Me in India”

  1. Less than 1% of Indians speak English as a second language, but with a population of over 1 billion people, that’s still 10 million English speakers. I went to Dashboard and then to Site Stats, but I was not able to locate anything that revealed where my viewers are from.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I mostly use the WordPress app on my iPhone and if you go to the stats page and scroll down, you’ll eventually get to where they list views by country. And you can check for different periods, like days, weeks, months, year, or all time. I’ve only been blogging here since the middle of May and my stats in June were still relatively insignificant, so I really only started paying attention last month.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Sensei, I have less than 8%view from there. Although they are second largest.. Sometimes there is U. K. As second.. Hmm.. More than 75%of my views is from States.. Strange there are views even from Denmark, and Hong Kong..

        Liked by 2 people

        1. It’s interesting to see the countries around the globe where you views are coming from. Only between 50-55% of my views are from the States. I thought it would be more like your stats…around three-quarters.

          Liked by 2 people

      2. I am a desktop blogger and I hardly ever turn my phone on. The last time I turned it on was 5 weeks ago and there were 32 spam messages on it. I started in April, so I have just a tiny bit more seniority than you. Can I ask you how many followers you have?

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Sorry, I just got entangled in health issues therefore, the late reply.. Jim don’t use the Stats from the dashboard. See the Icon on the extreme left just above the dashboard. It’s called My site, click it and you will see my Stats.. Click it.. There you can see the countries and even views on individual posts.. See those in Days, Weeks, and months… And tell us..

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

