The Coldest Winter…

IMG_2463

The first time I visited San Francisco was a number of decades ago. I lived in Houston at the time and my then-girlfriend and I decided to take a week-long vacation in the City by the Bay. It was late July.

Neither of us had ever been there before, so we went to a local book store and picked up a travel guide for San Francisco. The guide listed all kinds of sites to see, things to do, and restaurants to eat at. But it didn’t warn us about the weather in San Francisco in July.

Summers in Houston are hot! I mean really, really, hell-on-earth hot. When not dressed for work, it’s T-shirts and shorts hot. All the time. Even at night.

My girl and I flew to San Francisco with a suitcase full of T-shits and shorts. And why not? It was late July and that’s summertime and summers in the United States are hot. San Francisco is in the United States, right?

Oh my were we in for a shock. Cold and foggy are the two words I would use to describe what we encountered upon our arrival in San Francisco. Every day started out foggy, and it wasn’t until early afternoons that the winds coming off the ocean were able to blow away the fog.

The high temperatures during the day rarely got above 65 and at night it sometimes dipped into the upper forties. I had to go buy a pair of jeans, a sweat shirt, and a jacket in order to keep warm.

Despite the weather, though, we found San Francisco to be a wonderful city and we truly enjoyed our visit.

That said, I appreciate the words that are widely — but incorrectly — attributed to Mark Twain:

“The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco.”


This post was written for today’s one-word prompt, “foggy.”

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Coldest Winter…”

  1. I went to a baseball game one night with my wife in Milwaukee (located in the USA) and this was in the end of August. I was wearing shorts and sandals however my spouse had enough sense to wear a sweater. In the third inning I went to the souvenir stand and purchased a Brewers jersey because the temperature dropped like a rock with that strong breeze blowing in from the Great Lake. I made it another two innings before I had to leave and then I understood that Milwaukee has very short summers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

