Not Such a Good Idea

IMG_2460

“Hey! What are you doing?” Mark asked his wife.

Carolyn gave him a quizzical look. “I’m throwing it away,” she answered. “What does it look like I’m doing?”

Mark reached down into the trash basket and pulled out the discarded toothbrush. He rinsed it off and set it down on his side of the bathroom sink.

“If you need a new toothbrush, she said, “I have an extra. You don’t need to use my old one. That’s gross.”

“No, this toothbrush won’t be used on teeth anymore,” Mark explained, “but I can use it to clean the grout on the tiles on our bathroom floor and in the shower.”

“That’s a good idea,” Carolyn conceded. “Did you come up with that on your own?”

“Actually, I thought about it after I used your toothbrush to get the dog poop out of the treads on the soles of my sneakers,” Mark told her. “But don’t worry. I washed it thoroughly in hot water before putting it back in your toothbrush holder.”

Speaking about hot water, Mark spent that night sleeping on the sofa.


Written for today’s one-word prompt, “toothbrush.”

7 thoughts on “Not Such a Good Idea”

  1. What movie was that, someone broke into another person’s house (they were ticked off at their boss for being fired or something) and did all sorts of crazy things. And one thing was he put the person’s tooth brush down into their privates and gave a good scrub and put it back out. Gawd…I was just watching something where that happened. I was grossed out!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It sounds like something that John Belushi might have done in Animal House, but that movie The Birdcage always makes me laugh when Albert says that he is going to the cemetery to kill himself and then Armand responds, ‘Oh I see, so you’re going to a cemetery with your toothbrush. How Egyptian.’

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

