Manic Monday — Summertime Blues

Image result for crowded beach

Who doesn’t like summertime? Kids love summertime because they don’t have to go to school. Parents love summertime because they can take family vacations. People love summertime because the weather is warmer and the days last longer.

I don’t like summertime. It’s hot. It’s muggy. There is thunder and lightning, which is very, very frightening…to my dog. And to me.

There are mosquitoes. I hate mosquitoes. And ticks. I hate ticks even more than I hate mosquitoes. The grass grows like crazy in the summertime, which is just another chore that eats into my precious blogging time.

And then there are the kids. They’re off school. They’re everywhere. Those damn rug rats run around screeching and making messes with their melting ice cream cones and gooey chocolate candy to step in or sit on. The lines to get in anywhere are longer than during any other season because of all those freakin’ kids who are on their damn family vacations.

And talking about overcrowding, try going to any beach in the summertime. What a zoo!

Because of the laws of supply and demand, gas prices go up in the summertime. The highways are jammed with vacationers traveling hither and yon, making getting from point A to Point B take at least twice as long.

So go ahead, people, and celebrate summertime. I offer you a big, fat bah humbug to this crazy season. I’m just going to sit here, stew, and write a post about how I have a bad case of the summertime blues.


This post is written for this week’s Manic Monday prompt from Sandi over at Flip Flops Every Day.

And for what it’s worth, I don’t really hate summertime. Well, not as much as one might think after reading this post, anyway.

19 thoughts on “Manic Monday — Summertime Blues”

  1. I like summer.. (out of necessity as I dislike all other weather).. I can wear shorts.. I don’t have to think twice before leaving the bed.. Yep summer is nice if you remain indoors..

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I was nominated for one of those awards and it seemed more like a chain letter than an actual award, but you are an excellent writer and much deserving of an award, perhaps I will nominate you at the next BSA meeting.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mosquitoes, ticks, overgrown grass, too many rug rats running around creating all types of havoc and that annual increase in gas prices just when you need a vacation, what the hell is the point of summer. Great post I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol, most entertaining..summer here runs from basically the October thru March though officially its December, January, February and they are our hottest months…the rest of the year is beautifully temperate and as I don’t live near the beach nor any resort its very pleasant all year round…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. The summers where I live aren’t as bad as I made them out to be in my post. I’m not the crotchety old curmudgeon that I made myself out to be in my post. Well, not quite, anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I would hate summer time for all those same reasons. Thankfully our mosquitoes are minimal (they love me!) and we don’t really have an abundance of ticks.

    and hahahah
    And then there are the kids. They’re off school. They’re everywhere.

    Damn it, I hate when they are everywhere, except when mine are giving me good morning hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m with you! I don’t do hot and muggy. I melt. Does that make me a bad witch or a good one! Haha! Fortunately my kids are grown, and the grandkids? I can send the little pretties back to their parents after I’ve loaded them up with sweets. And storms. My dogs hate them too…we hide out inside together hoping the house doesn’t fall on us! Good witch you say?! 😜🌪

    Like

Leave a Reply

