Deeply Shallow

IMG_2444

“How did that make you feel?” Sue asked as they left the theater.

“I liked it,” Hal responded.

“I asked you how it made you feel,” she said, “not if you liked it.”

“What do you want me to say?” he asked. “It was good, entertaining, informative. I liked it.”

Exasperated, Sue pressed. “Did it make you feel sad? Happy? Good? Bad? Angry?”

“Sheesh,” Hal responded. “I liked it. I enjoyed it. The acting was good. The storyline was entertaining. It was two hours well spent.”

“Do you even have feelings? Emotions? Do you know what it means to feel anything?”

“Of course I have feeling and emotions,” Hal said. “I feel that I liked the goddam movie. Okay?”

“You are totally devoid of emotions,” Sue blurted out.”

“That’s not true,” Hal said defensively. “I feel very deeply. It’s just that deep down, I’m a very shallow person.”


Written for today’s one-word daily prompt, “shallow.”

9 thoughts on “Deeply Shallow

  1. newepicauthor July 28, 2017 / 9:45 am

    I don’t believe in people being deep and shallow, people are just perplexed by various problems in different places. We are all deep thinkers, but some of us understand how to express our thoughts better than others.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Sight11 July 28, 2017 / 10:16 am

    Right in the nuts.. How does that make you feel.. Did you enjoy it? Hal..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan July 28, 2017 / 10:17 pm

    I have this problem with people all the effin time

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tricia September 1, 2017 / 3:48 pm

    You guys are a hoot! You should take this to a podcast.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

