Surrounded By Assassins

IMG_2424.PNG

He called me to his side, put his arm around my shoulder and said, “The enemy is at the gate, my boy. Never forget that.”

This was my first day at my first real job right out of college. Harvey was an older man, probably in his sixties and he was my new boss. I wanted to — needed to — make a good first impression. But I was confused by what he had just said to me? “The enemy?” I asked. “Who is the enemy?”

“You have much to learn, son,” Harvey responded, his arm still draped over my shoulder. “They’re all our enemy.”

I was still confused. Maybe I just should have nodded in agreement and found my way to my cubicle. But I didn’t want my first day at work to start off with a misunderstanding with my boss. So I asked again, “Who is our enemy?”

Harvey seemed a bit irritated and he removed his arm from my shoulder. “All of them. The competitors, our clients, the public, the government. They’re all out to get us, to destroy us. We must always be vigilant to keep them from storming the gate.”

I began to wonder if my new boss was a bit insane. “You know,” I said as I backed away from him, “I’m not sure that this is the right place for me.”

Harvey looked me over, shook his head, and said, “Yes, you’re probably right, lad. But this is a cutthroat, dog-eat-dog business, and in order to succeed, you always need to know who your enemy is.”

As Harvey turned his back in me and walked away, I heard him say, “I’m surrounded by assassins.”


This post was written for today’s one-word prompt, “Gate.”

 

47 thoughts on “Surrounded By Assassins

  1. Sight11 July 21, 2017 / 8:36 am

    So still working there?

    Liked by 1 person

        • Fandango July 21, 2017 / 10:48 am

          Things to do, people to see, places to go, and a dog to walk.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sight11 July 21, 2017 / 10:50 am

            Games to play, women to see, Silently whistling.. Till you get caught and tried to a tree..

            Liked by 1 person

            • Tricia July 21, 2017 / 8:09 pm

              “Tried” or “tied” to a tree? One sounds like being burned or hung and the other sounds a little protest-y.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 11:41 am

              Tied.. Damm..autocorrect..

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 2:28 pm

              Why does it correct to words which don’t make sense? It should be smarter than that.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 2:33 pm

              It depends on the user intellect. So it reflects something about me..

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 2:36 pm

              Me too. It always speaks gibberish or frequently use profanity.

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 2:43 pm

              I don’t use profanity. But I am naturally dumb.. Sandi believes it.. Even showed me a clip..

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 2:57 pm

              You wash your mouth out with soap and naturally dumb? I don’t believe it. Can’t be true!

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 3:00 pm

              You better believe it.. Only Sandi and Jim are the intelligent ones.. Fandango is loosing it.. I already lost it..

              Liked by 1 person

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 3:07 pm

              Ohhh. So what am I then, Sight, huh? What am I?! (I’ve flipped the table in a fit of rage which is masking my insecurity of not belonging in this cybersocial setting)

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 3:11 pm

              Ask Sandi.. She gave us these designations. (For me you would be the philosopher. Another way of saying Intelligent with occasional daydreaming)

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 3:18 pm

              So..my head is always in the clouds? Are you insulting me, Sight? Cause I’m no Snuffleupagus!

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 3:25 pm

              Sigh! See that’s why i wrote the post Shut your Pie Hole.. Everyone gets angry.. I’m not insulting you.. I am describing you as a philosopher..

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 3:27 pm

              Chillax as the young people say. Easy, Sight. I was just joshing you. I have no idea why these slang terms are floating around in my head.

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 3:29 pm

              Again don’t apologise.. It’s your way of saying things..

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 3:40 pm

              I clarify to let you know I was joking. Again, there’s no sarcasm notification on phones yet. They need to get on that. More important than nuclear weapons.

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 3:42 pm

              Hear Hear.. As Fandango says..

              Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 22, 2017 / 3:29 pm

              What? I’m losing it? Please explain!

              Like

            • Sight11 July 22, 2017 / 3:32 pm

              Your sterility, oops wrong word, your sanity, oops wrong word..see I told you I lost it..

              Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 22, 2017 / 4:22 pm

              I was sterilized years ago. I lost my sanity more recently.

              Like

          • Tricia July 21, 2017 / 8:12 pm

            Ooh, doggie! What’s his name, Dan Fango? Oh, maybe it’s a girl. Is her name Dana Fanga?

            Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 21, 2017 / 10:15 pm

              My dog likes to remain anonymous. She doesn’t want the paparazzi to know her whereabouts.

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 9:06 am

              Well, that’s a Diva Bitch for ya!

              Liked by 1 person

  2. newepicauthor July 21, 2017 / 8:39 am

    Be vigilant, always stay on your guard as the enemy has already made a plan to steal from you, to kill you, to utterly obliterate and destroy you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 21, 2017 / 10:43 am

      He says as he looks back over his shoulders after donning his aluminum cap.

      Like

  3. Emilio Pasquale July 21, 2017 / 8:40 am

    At first I thought this was a bit of memoir. Then I thought, nope. Fiction! Now I think who cares? I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sandi July 21, 2017 / 9:51 am

    He secretly works for Oliver, in the Green Arrow. You BLEW your chance to know a super hero, and possibly help out with fighting the band of assassins. (sigh) – what am I going to do with your boys!! Do you not watch the Green Arrow? Our city is in peril. (hey that rhymes…heheh- someone do a poem, quick)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 21, 2017 / 10:53 am

      I prefer Blue Meanies to Green Arrows.

      Like

    • Tricia July 21, 2017 / 8:03 pm

      Um..did I miss something? Where’s the rhyme?

      Like

      • Tricia July 21, 2017 / 8:04 pm

        That was for Sandi. My comments keep jumping to the end. I wasn’t trying to skip the line, I swear!

        Liked by 1 person

          • Sandi July 21, 2017 / 11:02 pm

            We must pronounce them differently – they match pretty close when I say them.

            Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 9:09 am

              Ok, Sandi. Let me hear you bust a rhyme! I got you! (beat boxing the beat to “I Got It Made by Special Ed)

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sandi July 22, 2017 / 9:17 am

              Now that would be an instant sensation, this over-weight 40 something white chick… it would be funny. (and I’ll wiggle my fat fanny in the video – shoulder shimmy the big boobs) Wait let me call up my buddies Will Smith and Eminem for inspiration.

              HEY you change your name Aqua girl no longer makes sense now – nice to see you Tricia!

              Liked by 1 person

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 1:05 pm

              HI!! I’ll be your hype woman! We’ll get Snoop too. He’ll be down for the get down. All ’bout that bass, woman! Big girls are in now. We’ll be the newest version of The Weather Girls! Hahaha!

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sandi July 22, 2017 / 1:06 pm

              hahahahhahah

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 2:32 pm

              Yeah, come on! You know you wanna!

              Like

            • Tricia July 22, 2017 / 1:06 pm

              Yes. Thanks to you, I changed it. You gave me food for thought. I may be making more changes to the blog soon.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

