The Meaning of Life

IMG_2370

Have you ever taken the time to contemplate the meaning of life? I don’t do it very often because I’m still not sure life has any real meaning.

No, I’m not a nihilist. I’m just not someone who feels the need to seek out an answer to life’s true purpose or what my role in this world should be, other than to survive as long as I can and to make the most of my short existence on this planet.

Okay, maybe I am a bit of a nihilist.

But the other morning I was sitting at the kitchen table reading the morning paper and drinking my morning coffee and I found myself wondering about life, what it all means, and how I fit in. So I asked my wife, who was sitting across from me busily working on that day’s newspaper crossword puzzle, what she thought the meaning of life is. Without even bothering to look up she said, “Huh?”

“What is the meaning of life?” I asked again.

“I don’t know,” she said, clearly disinterested. “Why don’t you asked Siri?”

So I picked up my iPhone, pressed the home button and said, “Siri, what is the meaning of life?”

This was Siri’s one-line answer:

IMG_0908

That works for me!


This is my entry for this week’s One-Liner Wednesday prompt from Linda G. Hill.

36 thoughts on “The Meaning of Life

  1. Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 7:43 am

    What is the meaning of life,
    To not ask a digital voice assistant meaning of it.
    To not ruin your wife’s morning by asking weird questions.
    To go Karaoke with me and Sandi..

    Liked by 3 people

    • myageofaquarius July 19, 2017 / 8:19 am

      Woah-ho, Siri! Well, she sure is a cookie full of fortunes. Did she make that up or is she speaking from life experience? I wonder about her. You’ve got a great list of significant points, Sight. Keep it up, and you’ll find yourself at the apex of a mountain entertaining visitors who think you know stuff. ‘Dango, you should listen to him and get all his wisdom now to save yourself a hike up that mountain later.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 8:22 am

        Thank you for pointing the obvious in your comment, ‘visitors who think’. Think.. it certainly feels of transmitting subliminal messages..

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 9:03 am

          Sight’s comments are always very inSIGHTful. They incite people to roll their eyes and smack their heads!

          Liked by 3 people

          • Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 9:08 am

            Do you want me not to give you inSIGHTs..don’t smack your head..

            Liked by 2 people

            • Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 9:12 am

              Yeah, my pal.. Not imaginary…. With a skull.. Like me hiding behind a veil.. Hold on are you an alternate me.. Or I am an alternate you..

              Liked by 1 person

      • Sandi July 19, 2017 / 9:19 am

        I like the nickname Dango Nicely done! I couldn’t figure out how to shorten it!

        Liked by 2 people

    • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 9:05 am

      I’d be lost without Siri and Alexa. Between them they have all the answers.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 9:43 am

        I hope (not) that your wife reads this..

        Liked by 1 person

    • Sandi July 19, 2017 / 9:18 am

      I’m tuning up my terrible LOUD voice. lalallalalala, mememememe, (driving my kids crazy right now)

      Liked by 2 people

      • Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 9:34 am

        Hahahah…i am sure they are loving it…

        Like

  2. bikerchick57 July 19, 2017 / 8:54 am

    I’m not sure I agree with Siri in avoiding fat. There’s good fat, you know! And even if I ate the bad fat, I would say life is not worth living if I can’t occasionally enjoy a piece of cake or a donut or fried chicken.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 9:08 am

      True. Life without cake, donuts, and fried chicken (in moderation, of course) would be a living hell.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandi July 19, 2017 / 9:23 am

    I’m so aggravated. I hit the reply button DIRECTLY under the comment I’m replying to…and it doesn’t save that way – it pops down lower so My response doesn’t make sense. argh! I know part of it is when (on our admin page) we list comments as only so many levels deep. I think I’ll go up that for us on my blog. I just didn’t want others to have to read all that bantering when they wanted to see other comments! I’m guessing you have your comment levels set too?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 9:45 am

      Yes, I think I have it set to five or six. I also have the oldest show first so that the comments are displayed in chronological order, making it easier to follow the threads.

      Like

  4. myageofaquarius July 19, 2017 / 11:29 am

    Rebel!!! Who gives a crap about others having to read through the banter. Learn something, damnit! There is a host of useful information in these conversations. Siri and Alexa tickle Dango’s brain stimulating his existential ‘why’ enough for him to seek these answers from his wife. Who doesn’t see the wealth of knowledge there? I know I do. We’ve learned the many different ways one can use Sight in a sentence. He’s thrilled that he has found a new purpose in life. Fandango has been baptized and is living it up. Sandi is experimenting with the travel of sound through cyber space while testing decimal levels on her children. Phew! Class is in session today, people! I’m glad I came. Time for recess.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 11:40 am

      Who knew there was so much to learn in this post’s comments section? Woo hoo!

      Liked by 1 person

    • newepicauthor July 19, 2017 / 2:16 pm

      I enjoy reading the banter on posts and it is even better when I can get schooled by Zodiac girl and learn all this useful information. What I am still wondering about is when the Age of Aquarius actually begins. Is it possible that the meaning of life will be revealed to all of us when the constellation Pisces reaches an equinox point with the constellation Aquarius?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tricia July 21, 2017 / 3:56 pm

        Well, there’s this debate as to when it actually starts. There are many calculations which have been done. I just found this out. If you are really interested, here is a link( http://www.aquariuspapers.com/astrology/2015/01/are-we-in-the-age-of-aquarius-or-still-in-the-age-of-pisces.html) to a very informative sight. I did also get some good info on Wikipedia. I used to be all into the zodiac but not so much anymore. On my journey to know self, I have gravitated towards many tools and astrology was one. I got what I needed from it for that period. I still dabble, but I don’t keep up with it. I allow my intuition clue me in as to when to utilize it again.

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 12:07 pm

    I have to ask a question what is this challenge. It’s hard for me to understand. You have to write one line. But you are writing a whole post?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 12:45 pm

      Click on the link for the rules to get to Linda’s post and read the rules. The idea is to find a one-liner and use that in your post. Some people just have the one-liner, while others write a post using the one-liner as a basis.

      Like

      • Sight11 July 19, 2017 / 12:49 pm

        So like.. If there is dollar, who need pounds(Brexit)..
        Or,
        He came, he won but he didn’t Trumped. He tanked..

        Liked by 2 people

        • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 1:53 pm

          Yeah, something like that…but better!

          Like

  6. newepicauthor July 19, 2017 / 2:25 pm

    I enjoy reading the banter on posts and it is even better when I can get schooled by Zodiac girl and learn all this useful information. What I am still wondering about is when the Age of Aquarius actually begins. Is it possible that the meaning of life will be revealed to all of us when the constellation Pisces reaches an equinox point with the constellation Aquarius?
    I have done my share of searching for the meaning of life and then one day it struck me when I saw that number 33 on the Rolling Rock beer. I knew that I had found it being born on March 3rd, I was 33. I was still a bit foggy when I first saw this, actually my friends and I had just polished off our third case, but I figured it would come to me eventually. I had never heard of the 33 degrees of Scottish Rite Freemasonry, so that never entered my mind, but I was aware if beer was kept at 33 degrees it would taste wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Michael July 19, 2017 / 3:10 pm

    Sound advice Sir Fandango, but everyone I thought knew the answer to the meaning of life was 42…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. John Holton July 19, 2017 / 8:54 pm

    Those voice-activated goodies like Siri and Alexa drive me bananas. I turn all of them off. I’d’ve had to figure this out all on my own…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 19, 2017 / 9:02 pm

      From my perspective, they are novelty “goodies.”

      Like

  9. the-wolfe-review September 24, 2017 / 12:33 pm

    Haha, Siri answered you with a line from Monty Python and The Meaning of Life! I lean towards the belief that we have meaning in life until we wonder what it is. I think life is meaningless, but by living life, our chosen mode of living becomes the meaning. Deliberate default existence is, I believe, the closest thing we have to meaning.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

