Can I Get Some More Moxie?

IMG_2412

I’m old enough to remember that Moxie was a soda brand. It was, back in the day, a very popular brand, even more popular at one point than Coca-Cola.

Moxie was introduced in 1876 and was one of the first mass produced carbonated beverages.

Since I’ve never come across Moxie beverages in any store that sells soda, I was wondering if it’s possible buy it anymore or if the brand is now defunct. So I went somewhere where you can buy virtually anything: Amazon. Sure enough, you can buy your very own six-pack of Moxie and have it shipped right to your door.

IMG_2413.PNG

These days, though, for many, the word “moxie” conjures up attributes such courage, determination, nerve, and force of character. It’s similar to another recent WordPress one-word prompt, “pluck” and its synonym “spunk.”

And then, while searching for an image of Moxie to use for this post, I came across this:

IMG_2411

I agree that what our country needs is more moxie and it has to start with the Republicans in Congress. They need to demonstrate courage, determination, and nerve. They need to stand together in a force of character. They need to stand up to Donald Trump in order to save our republic.

They need to show some moxie.


This post is for today’s one word prompt: Moxie.

13 thoughts on “Can I Get Some More Moxie?

  1. Sight11 July 15, 2017 / 9:48 am

    I know you are a Nationalist.. But stop obsessing about the guy..
    Great post by the way..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 15, 2017 / 9:50 am

      I wish I could stop obsessing about “the guy.” But he’s destroying my country, the world, and everything I hold dear.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sight11 July 15, 2017 / 9:53 am

        Look, it’s okay to protest.. But if he becomes the centre of your life.. You will destroy your thoughts.. and your will burn yourself with mental agony..

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fandango July 15, 2017 / 11:27 am

          He’s not the center of my life, not by a long-shot. But he seems to always be on the periphery. Inescapable.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sight11 July 15, 2017 / 11:29 am

            Read my comment i wrote a big…If.. I know he is not.. But unlike the side mirror of your car.. Things appear closer than they truly are.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 15, 2017 / 11:43 am

              Well, Sight, as you noted in a comment on Sandi’s post, I am myopic.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sight11 July 15, 2017 / 11:52 am

              Hahahah, me too..

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Kijo July 15, 2017 / 10:21 am

    Those who voted for him thought/think he has moxie.

    Moxie seems to be highly valued in America, whether it is backed by competence or not.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 15, 2017 / 11:23 am

      Those who voted for him…and still support him…dont know what moxie is.

      Like

      • Kijo July 15, 2017 / 3:44 pm

        Maybe they confuse it with confefe.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandi July 15, 2017 / 12:17 pm

    Order some MOXIE and tell us how it tastes. I’m thinking it might taste (ugh) like that brand JOLT. Extreme caffeine in CoLa. gross.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 15, 2017 / 12:37 pm

      I read that it’s made with some sort of root extract, which gives it a somewhat bitter taste. So I think I’ll pass. But, please, feel free to order up some for yourself!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

