Back of My Neck Getting Dirty and Gritty

I already responded to today’s one-word prompt, “grit,” and I usually don’t post twice for the same prompt. But when I was enjoying my morning sit down earlier, a song popped into my head and I was inspired to post for today’s prompt a second time.

The song? “Summer in the City” by The Lovin Spoonful. The song opens with:

Hot town, summer in the city
Back of my neck getting dirty and gritty

Been down, isn’t it a pity
Doesn’t seem to be a shadow in the city

And I thought as the song rolled around in my head, “Dirty and gritty. Yup, gotta post this.”

For those of you who might not be familiar with the song, enjoy:

 

6 thoughts on “Back of My Neck Getting Dirty and Gritty”

  1. I can hear the beginning of this tune – it is so recognizable – in just a couple notes. (and later I can hear Sight’s sigh) – because damn it, if I didn’t too blog more music inspired posts! I finally just got my GRIT one done.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

