Jingle Jangle

Image result for spurs that jingle jangle jingle

When I saw today’s one-word prompt, “jangle,” three songs came to mind.

One was the Gene Autry song from back when I was a kid. It was actually recorded before I was born and I don’t remember much about the song other than this refrain:

I got spurs that jingle, jangle, jingle
As I go riding merrily along
And they sing, “Oh, ain’t you glad you’re single”
And that song ain’t so very far from wrong

I was just a kid, so I didn’t really understand the meaning, but it was catchy.

The second was Bob Dylan’s Mr. Tambourine Man. It’s relevant refrain is:

Hey Mr. Tambourine Man, play a song for me
In the jingle jangle mornin’ I’ll come followin’ you

I preferred the Byrds’ version of the song over Dylan’s. The Byrds’ version was released in the same year as Dylan’s version and became a number one best-seller.

The third song was Jerry Jeff Walker’s Mr. Bojangles. Although the song was originally recorded by Jerry Jeff Walker in 1968, I mostly remember the version sung by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band from 1970. This song was also catchy. But I wasn’t sure I could use if for today’s prompt, since it’s “Bojangles,” and not “jangle.”

And that’s why I’m glad I thought of the Gene Autry and Bob Dylan songs first!


Note: this post has been edited by me because in the original version I attributed Mr. Bojangles to Bob Dylan, when, in fact, it was composed by Jerry Jeff Walker. Sorry about that.

23 thoughts on “Jingle Jangle

  1. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 9:09 am

    Oh sorry, great post by the way..

    Like

    • Fandango July 8, 2017 / 9:37 am

      Thanks, Sight. But I actually made a factual error, attributing Dylan as the composer of Mr. Bojangles. I edited the post to correct the facts, but I did refer to another song composed by Dylan, Mr. Tambourine Man.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 9:44 am

        Ohh.. Who is that.. Are you Fandango’s kid playing with your dad post?Your dad has a certain way of pulling everyone’s pant down(and raising girls skirt) in public with his Satirical comments.. Hey Fandango look who is writing your comments..

        Like

  2. newepicauthor July 8, 2017 / 10:02 am

    Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you do the Fandango or will it be this that and the other thing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 8, 2017 / 11:28 am

      I consider doing the fandango a little bit of this, that, and the other.

      Like

  3. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    Hey are you getting my comments..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 8, 2017 / 3:15 pm

      For some reason, a bunch of your comments went into my spam folder. I just released them all.

      Like

  4. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    Hey is anyone getting my comments??

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 8, 2017 / 3:16 pm

      Now that they are no longer in my spam folder…and not sure why or how that happened…yes, I’m getting your comments.

      Like

  5. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    Is anyone getting my comments??

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 12:43 pm

    Anyone getting comments..

    Like

  7. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 12:48 pm

    This is my last attempt but is anyone getting my comments..

    Like

  8. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 1:11 pm

    Are you getting my comments..??

    Like

  9. Dan July 8, 2017 / 1:15 pm

    It’s interesting to think how different versions of songs stick with you better than others for social or emotional reasons, quote specifically hallelujah recorded live by Sheryl crow sticks in my memory even though I’m quite a big Leonard Cohen fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 8, 2017 / 3:00 pm

      Not sure I’ve heard Sheryl Crow’s version. I’ll have to see if I can find it and give it a listen.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Sight11 July 8, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    Sandi is still not getting my comments..

    Like

  11. Sight11 July 9, 2017 / 8:06 am

    Are you getting them?

    Like

      • Sight11 July 9, 2017 / 8:11 am

        I checked it is only working for those who have unmarked me. For others it is still the same.. I cannot comment on Sandi or Yassi page.. Or even Allison for the matter.. I have reported it to Akismet… But it is going nowhere.. Should I delete this site?

        Like

        • Fandango July 9, 2017 / 8:53 am

          I don’t know what to recommend. You can wait and see if a solution can be found, or maybe delete Sight11 and start again with Sight12. You can always export you posts before you delete your current account and then import them all into your new one if you choose to go that route.

          Like

Leave a Reply

