You’ve Got Pluck

Image result for you've got pluck

When I saw today’s one-word prompt, “pluck,” I immediately thought of that great scene from the Mary Tyler Moore Show where Lou Grant, played by Ed Asner, says to Mary Richards, played, of course, by Mary Tyler Moore, “You know what? You’ve got pluck.” Mary responds, “Well, yes.” And then Lou hits her back with “I hate pluck.”

You remember that, right? You can view a clip of that scene here.

The only problem is, Lou didn’t say, “You’ve got pluck” or “I hate pluck.” No, Lou said, “You’ve got spunk” and “I hate spunk.”

That faulty memory of mine got me thinking. What is the difference between “pluck” and “spunk”?

According to Google, one definition of pluck is “spirited and determined courage.” But spunk, using the same source, is defined as “courage and determination.”

So take that, WordPress Daily Prompt. I may have confused pluck and spunk, but certainly anyone can understand how that could happen. The two words are synonyms and are virtually interchangeable.

7 thoughts on “You’ve Got Pluck

  1. Sight11 July 5, 2017 / 9:35 am

    I have no “plucking” clue about the movie?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emilio Pasquale July 5, 2017 / 11:20 am

    I do remember that line, one of the best of all time. That was a great show. And this was a great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 5, 2017 / 1:28 pm

      Thanks. I appreciate the feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed both that great old show and my post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

