Any Port in a Storm

Image result for any port in a storm

Richard sauntered into his favorite drinking establishment in the city to grab a quick beer and some bar snacks. Unfortunately, the place was packed, mostly with uniformed sailors loudly celebrating Fleet Week. He couldn’t even get close enough to the bar to place his order, and his bar tending buddy was too busy to even acknowledge his presence.

Frustrated, Richard started to exit the overcrowded bar when a woman tapped him on the shoulder. “Hey sailor,” she purred in a sort of sad attempt at being alluring.

“I, um, I’m not a sailor,” Richard said, as he continued to work his way toward the door of the packed room.

“Well, you look very seaworthy to me,” she said, squeezing his shoulder and flashing an awkward wink. “How about we ditch this crazy scene? We can go back to your ship and blissfully sail away all night long until we reach the port of paradise.”

Richard looked the woman and realized that, while she wasn’t exactly the kind of girl he’d want to take home to his mother, she was decent looking. All Richard could think of at that point was the old saying, “any port in a storm,” which had little to do with sailing. “Fine,” he said. “Let’s go sailing.”

The woman grabbed his hand and, as they were exiting the bar together, what came to her mind was “any port in a storm, girl, any port in a storm.”


This little piece of flash fiction is written for today’s one-word prompt: sail.

15 thoughts on “Any Port in a Storm

  1. Sight11 July 4, 2017 / 10:21 am

    Are you an introvert like me..? Or is it that you are an extrovert guy.. If i have to guess it will be former.. But I could be wrong…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango July 4, 2017 / 10:36 am

      You guessed right. I am, at least in the real world, an introvert. But how could you tell from reading this little piece of fiction?

      Like

      • Sight11 July 4, 2017 / 10:44 am

        Me too..well I hate to say it but Restrain is our biggest strength and weakness.. At least I think all introverts like us have this dilemma.. In short read your post and imagine what would an extrovert personality writer would have written.. The room decor.. Even to details like where he placed his hand and how he placed it.. We introverts well.. Do i really have to spell it out for you?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fandango July 4, 2017 / 3:06 pm

          Truth is, if I weren’t writing a short piece of flash fiction, I would have added details, like a description of Richard, what the woman looked like, and more about the place where it all took place. But I wanted to keep it short. So what does that say about me?

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sight11 July 4, 2017 / 3:15 pm

            But i think we have a different way of saying it. I never claimed that we can’t write these things but we restrain ourselves. I read your story and thought OK this guy is an introvert like me. But better ask him. I guess we have our style in writing. But I could be wrong.. Sorry for troubling you..

            Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 4, 2017 / 3:29 pm

              No trouble. You’re absolutely correct. I am an introvert, and I tend to leave out details in my fiction posts to give the reader an opportunity to use his or her imagination to fill in the details. Sometimes, what’s left unsaid (or unwritten) can have more impact than what is explicitly written. It’s all good.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sight11 July 4, 2017 / 3:35 pm

              Spoken like a big brother. Thanks.. I thought maybe you got antagonised by my comment..

              Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 4, 2017 / 3:39 pm

              That’s me…every woman’s big brother!

              Like

            • Sight11 July 4, 2017 / 3:42 pm

              Hey….I am a man.. Don’t be a wise ass…Why in the world would you think I am a woman?

              Liked by 1 person

            • Fandango July 4, 2017 / 3:52 pm

              Did I say every woman’s big brother? Sorry about that. My excuse is that I’m the oldest of four kids and other than me, they were all girls, which may cover my perspective when someone says I sound like a big brother. No offense meant.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Sight11 July 4, 2017 / 3:57 pm

              None taken, i was pulling your leg.. A good one mate.. Really good one.. Well I don’t drink.. I know you do. So I raise a bottle of water for you and your family.. Happy writing.. And drink one for the introverts.. We survived.. Even in this age..

              Liked by 1 person

  2. mumsthewordblog1 July 4, 2017 / 5:35 pm

    Great line – We can go back to your ship and blissfully sail away all night long until we reach the port of paradise.”
    Really enjoyed reading your post, well done. Tracey 🙂

    Like

  3. Michael July 4, 2017 / 8:26 pm

    I loved this pick up line: ” you look very seaworthy to me”
    Then again any storm in a port could be fun I guess. Is there to be a part 2?

    Liked by 1 person

      • Michael July 4, 2017 / 8:38 pm

        Maybe it was my mind going into a seaworthy spin, but you did lead me to a certain point…

        Like

Leave a Reply

