Rock, Paper, Scissors

IMG_2362Somehow today’s WordPress one-word Daily Prompt didn’t show up on my feed. Therefore, I wrote my own post for the One-word prompt using the word “regrets.” Sadly, no one has even read my homemade prompt post that I made up. So, when I finally found the prompt for the word “paper,” I decided to respond to this one — the “official” one — too.

You’ve played Rock, Paper, Scissors. Who hasn’t? I won’t go into the rules (Google it), but it’s very common among both kids and adults. Some play RPS as a game just to pass the time. Others use it to make decisions, like where to go to dinner, what movie to see, or who gets the house in the divorce.

Fun Fact

But did you know that rock, paper, scissors is also called “Rochambeau” in many parts of the world? Seriously. Google it!

That’s what I learned the name of the game to be when I was a kid and first played it. Because that was what my parents called it. But when I asked my friends if they wanted to play Rochambeau, they had no idea what I was talking about. So I adapted and started calling it rock, paper, scissors, like just about everyone else.

And now you know.

4 thoughts on “Rock, Paper, Scissors

  1. Sandi June 22, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    Ha! We were watching a movie once, and the two main characters looked at each other and said “Rochambeau” – and then they broke into a few hand moves because they kept doing the same thing. I asked my husband – what did they say because I had never heard that. So, as soon as you posted, I laughed. That’s right! WHAT a clever, simple post. I love it. One of the few I read and only one I commented on today. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango June 22, 2017 / 10:47 pm

      Thanks, Sandi, for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you enjoyed my post.

      Like

  2. newepicauthor June 26, 2017 / 11:27 am

    I have never played the game, but it seems very simple where Rock smashes scissors, Scissors cuts paper and Paper covers rock. I heard that there is a variation that real geeks play like those on The Big Bang Theory and it adds two extra hand signals being Spock and lizard. “Spock” is the Star Trek Vulcan salute, while “lizard” is formed by bending your hand at the wrist and pointing your fingers forward, just like in that song from the Bangles ‘Walk like an Egyptian’. Spock smashes scissors and vaporizes rock; he is poisoned by lizard and disproven by paper. Lizard poisons Spock and eats paper; it is crushed by rock and decapitated by scissors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fandango June 26, 2017 / 12:04 pm

      Ha! Thanks for sharing The Big Bang Theory variant to RPS. I’ve never heard of it, but it does seem to take a very simple game and add an unnecessary degree of complexity to it. But I guess that’s to be expected from the characters on The Big Bang Theory, right?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

