Taper

IMG_2338

When I was a young man I used to be able to buy and wear what is known as tapered shirts.

What are tapered shirts, you ask? Well, according to fashion advisors, “men’s dress shirts should taper from the chest to the waist, following the contours of the body and creating a clean line (i.e., no excess fabric) between the shirt and pants when tucked in.”

There comes a time in the lives of most men, however, when wearing shirts with a taper, also known as “fitted shirts,” becomes problematic. That time often comes when a man exits his late 20s or early 30s and is characterized by an inability to button a tapered shirt around the midsection without straining the shirt material or popping the shirt buttons. That’s the time when buying and wearing fitted shirts doesn’t work anymore.

It can be a difficult time for a man when he has to admit that the contours of his body are no longer flattered by tapered shirts. Some have referred to that point in a man’s life as “male menopause.”

My time didn’t arrive until my late 30s, but it arrived nonetheless. I’m not fat or even plump. But my body contours are such that there is what I would euphemistically refer to as a slight negative contour from my chest to my waist.

Hence, when it comes to the word “taper,” at least with respect to clothing, it is no longer operative with respect to shirt purchases.


This post is my entry into today’s WordPress Daily Post: Taper.

Leave a Reply

