Triumph Spitfire

Prior to today, I hadn’t participated in a WordPress prompt. But when I saw today’s Daily Prompt: Triumph, I was reminded of a love affair I used to have in my youth with British roadsters. And so I thought I’d give the Daily Prompt a go.

IMG_2327

I owned, at one time or another, a Sunbeam Alpine, Austin Healey 3000, MG Midget, and Jaguar XK150. And, of course, a Triumph Spitfire, like the one pictured above.

British roadsters in the 60s were notoriously unreliable. Yet I kept buying them over and over despite their poor quality and workmanship. Because when they ran, they were were so much fun to drive. There was just something sexy and exotic about driving around in a British roadster with the top down and the wind blowing through my hair, at least when they were in running condition — and when I still had hair.

That said, of all the British roadsters I owned during my decade-long British roadster phase, the biggest POS was the Triumph Spitfire. It looked great, but as a mode of reliable transportation, it was anything but a triumph.

Whenever the humidity got above 50%, which was more often than not, my Spitfire wouldn’t start. I would have to bring out my jumper cables and persuade one of my neighbors to give me a jump. No amount of time spent at car repair shops specializing in British cars would successfully cure the Triumph’s antipathy toward dampness.

I ultimately had to sell my beautiful but temperamental Spitfire when my frequent tardiness at work resulted in an ultimatum from my boss to either get a more car or find another job.

Alas, keeping my job triumphed over keeping my Triumph.

4 thoughts on “Triumph Spitfire

  1. Dangerspouse June 11, 2017 / 3:07 pm

    Hey Hey! I grew up with Triumphs, my dad being a nut for them (since he couldn’t afford his True Love, the Shelby Cobra). We had a TR-4, two Spitfires, and a GT-6 when I was a kid. Later we added two TR-6’s, one for my dad and one for my kid sister. I agree with you about the Spitfires (and we had a joke about the wonky electrics: “Lucas, the ancient God of Darkness”).

    I recently wrote a post and added a pic of my dad’s current pair of TR-6’s (he now works part time in retirement restoring British sports cars for a shop). I don’t normally advertise my site, but if you want to see it it’s at: https://dangerdangerwordpresscom.wordpress.com/2017/04/29/depends/

    All the best!

    Like

    • Fandango June 11, 2017 / 3:23 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I would have loved to have scored a TR3 at the time, but all I could afford was a Spitfire. Loved the comment about Lucas Electronics, though. Also, thanks for the link. Fascinating post.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dangerspouse June 11, 2017 / 3:29 pm

        Thanks very much, I’m flattered you liked it.

        Strangely enough, a buddy of mine in high school had a TR-3. I loved the way it looked, but honestly the TR-4 was a huge step up performance-wise. (And the TR-4A was even better, adding the IRS.)

        Like

Leave a Reply

